Who are the Revivers of the Religion for each generation?

Who are the Revivers of the Religion for each generation?

Abu Hurayrah (may Allah be pleased with him) narrated that the Prophet (ﷺ) said:

إِنَّ اللَّهَ يَبْعَثُ لِهَذِهِ الأُمَّةِ عَلَى رَأْسِ كُلِّ مِائَةِ سَنَةٍ مَنْ يُجَدِّدُ لَهَا دِينَهَا ‏”‏

Allah will raise for this community at the end of every hundred years the one who will renovate its religion for it.
(Abu Dawud)

We do not have their names, but the following are considered by some to be the Revivers of the Religion:

First Century (after the prophetic period) (August 3, 718)
Umar ibn Abd al-Aziz (682–720)

Second Century (August 10, 815)
Muhammad ibn Idris ash-Shafi`i (767–820)
Ahmad ibn Hanbal (780-855)

Third Century (August 17, 912)
Muhammad al-Bukhari (810–870)
Abu al-Hasan al-Ash’ari (874–936)

Fourth Century (August 24, 1009)
Abu Bakr Al-Baqillani (950–1013)
Hakim al-Nishaburi (933–1012)

Fifth Century (September 1, 1106)
Ibn Hazm (994–1064)
Abu Hamid al-Ghazali (1058–1111)

Sixth Century (September 9, 1203)
Salauddin Ayyubi (1137–1193)
Fakhr al-Din al-Razi (1149–1210)
Muhammad bin Bakhtiyar Khalji (1206)

Seventh Century (September 5, 1300)
Ibn Taymiyyah (1263–1328)

Eighth Century (September 23, 1397)
Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyya (1292–1350)
Tamerlane (Timur) (1336–1405)
Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani (1372–1448)

Ninth Century (October 1, 1494)
Jalaludin Al-Suyuti (1445–1505)
Shah Rukh (1377-1447)
Mehmet II (1432–1481)

Tenth Century (October 19, 1591)
Selim I (1470–1520)
Suleiman the Magnificent (1494-1566)
Ahmad Sirhindi (1564–1624)
Abdullah ibn Alawi al-Haddad (1634–1720)

Eleventh Century (October 26, 1688)
Mulla Sadra Shirazi (1571–1640)
Khayr al-Din al-Ramli (1585–1671)
Mahiuddin Aurangzeb Alamgir (1618–1707)

Twelfth Century (November 4, 1785)
Shah Waliullah Dehlawi (1703–1762)
Muhammad ibn Abd al-Wahhab (1703–1792)
Murtaḍá al-Zabīdī (1732–1790)
Shah Abdul Aziz Delhwi (1745–1823)
Usman Dan Fodio (1754–1817)
Tipu Sultan (1750–1799)
Syed Ahmad Barelvi (1786–1831)

Thirteenth Century (November 14, 1882)
Muhammad Abduh (1849–1905)
Said Nursî (1878–1960)
Syed Ahmad Khan (1817–1898)
Mahmud Hasan Deobandi (1851–1920)

Fourteenth Century (November 21, 1979)
Ahmad Raza Khan (1856—1925)
Ashraf Ali Thanwi (1863—1943)
Abul A’la Maududi (1903–1979)


Shaykh Haytham Tamim is the founder and main teacher of the Utrujj Foundation. He has provided a leading vision for Islamic learning in the UK, which has influenced the way Islamic knowledge is disseminated. He has orchestrated the design and delivery of over 200 unique courses since Utrujj started in 2001. His extensive expertise spans over 30 years across the main Islamic jurisprudence schools of thought. He has studied with some of the foremost scholars in their expertise; he holds some of the highest Ijazahs (certificates) in Quran, Hadith (the Prophetic traditions) and Fiqh (Islamic rulings). His own gift for teaching was evident when he gave his first sermon to a large audience at the age of 17 and went on to serve as a senior lecturer of Islamic transactions and comparative jurisprudence at the Islamic University of Beirut (Shariah College). He has continued to teach; travelling around the UK, Europe and wider afield, and won the 2015 BISCA award (British Imams & Scholars Contributions & Achievements Awards) for Outstanding Contribution to Education and Teaching.